The Federal States

Mueritz national park Enlarge image The Mueritz national park displays beautiful landscapes (© dpa/picture alliance) Germany is a nation of great diversity. The 16 federal states have much to offer to guests and visitors. There are similarities but also cultural differences between them.

Surfer auf dem Walchensee in Oberbayern

The Federal States

Germany is a country of great diversity. It is divided into 16 federal states (Länder), each responsible for the government of its own state, some of which look back over a long tradition. Germany has always been divided into states but over the course of the centuries the map has often changed its appearance. The states which exist today were established after 1945 but have in part retained their old ethnic traditions and characteristics as well as their historical boundaries.

If you would like to know more about the Federal States or simply would like to browse, please follow the links to the websites of the magazine 'Deutschland' or the 'Deutschland-Portal' here below:

Or do you already know where to go and want to access tourist information on one of the Federal States? Or if you would just like to browse, please find below the links to the tourism offices websites of the Federal States:

The Federal States

Dresdener Neumarkt mit Frauenkirche

German National Tourist Board (DZT)

Germany - The travel destination

Tourist information on holidaying in Germany, conference venues, shopping or ideas for young people: consult the German National Tourist Board website for all this – and much, much more!