Regional Cooperation

The German Government also assists Namibia within the framework of regional development cooperation. Its partner in this field is the Southern African Development Community (SADC), a community of 15 states in southern Africa.

One of the regional lighthouse projects is the Kavango Zambesi Transfrontier Conservation Area, known as KAZA. Together with Angola, Botswana, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe, Germany is assisting with the establishment and management of the largest conservation area in Africa. Existing ecosystems are integrated and transnational cooperation on wildlife and park management supported. This also promotes cross-border tourism, which boosts economic and political cooperation in these countries, thus directly contributing to long-term peacekeeping in the region.

Via the KfW Entwicklungsbank Germany is supporting activities such as new park infrastructure and park management planning. By involving local communities, these benefit directly from tourism and the utilization of their natural resources.

KAZA - Kavango Zambezi Transfrontier Conservation Area

The KfW Development Bank is increasing its support for nature conservation in Southern Africa. In the Bwabwata National Park in north-eastern Namibia a new park administration station with offices, accommodation and a new reception building for tourists is to be erected.

Regional Cooperation